Tags

, ,

Ballynahowen wedge tomb, near the village of Adrigole.

It was time to push on today, my two weeks here ticking by far too quickly. A stiff wind blew and rain threatened as I drove north up the east side of the Beara Peninsula.

I feel my time here, even if far too short, was well spent. I got to know the area much better, although it’s a case of the more you know, the more you know how much you don’t know. You know? There really is so much to discover here.

So much in fact that I’m already thinking of adding one more day to the tour! Partly that’s because we will really need two nights in Portmagee, before and after visiting Skellig Michael, but also to spend one more day on the Beara. I want people to be able to slow down and feel the pace of life here; to walk the ancient paths and watch the sun set over the Atlantic off the wild rocky coast; contemplate the stone monuments left by the people who so long ago called this remote place home, and share a pint with some of the locals.

Healy Pass, built as a Famine project, connects the two sides of the Beara Peninsula.

I’m sure that, like me, the Beara will seep into their soul. Now I’m not romantic enough to think the Beara is the only wonderful place in Ireland — there are many, many more. But it is certainly one of the most wonderful, and one I am looking forward to sharing with others.

Tomorrow I shift gears and head to Cork, the second largest city in Ireland. We’ll see how much of a culture shock it is.

For those who want to see the Beara Peninsula on film, there have been two recent movies set here, both starring Colin Farrell. One is  a BBC two-part made for TV movie called “Falling for a Dancer” (which I mentioned before), the other is “Ondine.” Both are available from Netflix.

